When I get up from my chair I have to put one hand on the seat, the other on the arm and then I push my legs to raise my body.  When I walk I walk like a penguin, a slight side to side shuffle , more a waddle actually.  The lower part of my back aches.  My stomach feels unsettled ; there are frequent attacks of heartburn and gas. Sometimes there is a pressure in my abdomen.  For a while there I thought I was dying.

But I am not.

My daughter is nearing her “due” date.  And perhaps I am easing her discomfort by feeling for her.  I read about this phenomenon in psychology courses at university. Sympathetic pregnancy it is called and it is usually the father who experiences it. I know of one relative of mine who went to hospital just before his wife was due.  He had pains in his stomach.  They sent him home when they found out his wife was pregnant. He is a burly man who would never impress you as having such empathy for anyone if indeed that is the cause.

Anyway, I am feeling as pregnant as my daughter.

If near the end of the month there is no post from me, it will be because I am in delivery.  Lets hope my labour is short.  And in case you feel so inclined, I like carnations

9 responses »

  1. Anonymous says:

    I was there when that burly man had the sympathetic pregnancy. He was in amazing unsourced pain at the time and the next day he was just fine (after delivering LOL). At the moment it was kinda scary, after it was just plain funny. I still say he could have delivered the baby (or at least a six pack) if he had just pushed a little bit harder!

  2. Too funny! Walk! Walk! Walk!

  3. Anonymous says:

    I have often heard it said that men have no idea what it is like for women in labour. Well, I am the wife in this story and on my due date, I took my husband to the hospital and he was the one admitted! We’ve had many a laugh over this one and once again, I’ve laughed today.

    • Yes that really was a great laugh, wasn’t it. But truly my back is killing me today and I never have pains in my back. I do believe I am having pain just thinking about Erica’s discomfort.

  4. Snarf says:

    That is so funny that you say this. I just found out that I am expecting and to no surprise it’s all I can talk about with my dear mate. He’s probably heard me tell him (not whining, just informing) that I am a little tired or out of breath… Last night, he must have told me five times that he was exhausted! Kinda funny how it seems to “rub off” on people. Carpe Diem.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I am the wife. On my due date, I took my husband to hospital and he was the one admitted! We’ve had many a laugh over this and we had another one today! You may be right on with this one, Judy. Good luck as the due date approaches!

Leave a Reply

