I don’t claim to be a great cook.  In fact I have five lady friends who meet regularly for dinner in each other’s houses and they would agree with me.  Those ladies really can “put on the dog” as the expression goes. The table decor, choice of music , selection of wine and blend of spices and herbs are worthy of the finest five star dining room in the country. Inspirational!
I, on the other hand, have no leanings towards Martha Stewart at all.  In fact I have been known to provide a complete meal using M&M only.  Spending hours in the kitchen is not a favourite occupation of mine.  Not that I never served my time there.  During my early married years I worked in the sweat shop  entire Saturdays preparing “gourmet” meals .  But now I would rather have my nails plucked out than labour over a hot stove.   I make it simple.
So you may wonder why am I a member of such an illustrious group of epicurean ladies?  Well, actually, I believe they keep me on because I make them feel good.  True.  Should someone burn the chicken, no problem, Judith already did that last month.  If the cake fails, well Judith made trifle from her flop. The coffee is too strong, the rice is too gummy, the meal is cold………….. Judith has already been there. To be fair to them they are such wonderfully polite friends  that they would NEVER voice these thoughts.  But there is no fooling me.  I can read the little nuances in expression when the coffee is cold and the sherbet is warm .  The reassurance of the stability of  their gourmet reputations is  not threatened.  They love me.  No matter what goes wrong when they entertain there is always one person, me, who has done the worse better. That is comforting………. to them.
So with that background on my culinary skills I am enclosing what I consider to be a delightfully light and attractive salad which at this point you would probably have some reservations about making.  However if I have any shred of credibility left you might just be brave enough to try .  This recipe serves one person but can easily be adapted to ten , twenty, or a thousand people if you so choose.  Just get out the old calculator and start multiplying.
The nutrition information is there for all you who are “hip” people. But remember if you add as much as a nut the numbers change and so may  your thighs , hips and bellies.
Spinach beet salad
1 cup fresh baby spinach
1/4 cup grapes
1/4 cup mandarin orange sections
1/3 cup shredded pickled beets
1/2 oz crumbled feta cheese
1/3 cup shredded carrot
1/4 small apple sliced thinly
1 Tbs  balsamic vinaigrette dressing
Directions:
Line salad plate with spinach.
Shred the carrot and beet
Place on the spinach
Add the mandarin oranges grapes and apple slivers
top with cheese
Serve with Balsamic dressing
6 responses »

  1. Anonymous says:

    Judy, another great posting. Recipe sounds fab. Have you ever considered changing you Blog name to GrandFallsWoman TheNewErmaBombeck? I love your humor. Reminds me a lot of her. Keep up the good work.

  2. I can vouch for your culinary skills and compared to me, you are highly exaggerating your skills! Will try that salad some day though. Keep up with the recipes!

  3. Anonymous says:

    If I wasn’t so “out of touch” with my kitchen, even I would try this recipe, greens and all. Looks excellent!

    • Thanks. I wrote up the recipe and just writing it made me want one, hence the picture. However, I did forget to add the grapes and apple slivers. Good anyway. But I think you are not that out of touch.

Leave a Reply

