After six months of experimentation I have developed the perfect single banana pancake for me.  It started with my first efforts to make them from scratch.  You see I never really liked them all that much.  Pancake breakfasts held no appeal to my gustatory taste and I much preferred eggs of any kind to the waffle /pancake set.  But last summer my Aunt Jean stayed with me for a week in my summer place and she offered one morning to treat us all to pancakes.  My first reaction was  a forced smile with an unconvincing ” that will be lovely” .  Anyway to get quickly to the point, her pancakes were superb!  I ate one, then another and embarrassed myself by eating four. I didn’t think to ask her for her recipe and weeks later I had the urge to make some for myself from scratch as she did.  My first efforts were not very palatable.  They were black , white  ,rubbery and crisp.  And not at all fluffy and golden.  I kept experimenting .  Every other day I was measuring , mixing , frying ,tasting and shaking my head.  But I worked with determination.  And today I have what I consider the pancake  worthy of a French title  Crêpe Supérieure .   And I am giving you the recipe as I am sure some day you may want to make one single pancake from scratch just for yourself and know that it will be good.  The recipe is followed by the nutrition information .  Try it.  Experiment further if you must .  But watch the calories.  Bon Appetit!

Crepes Superior (343.56 cal) syrup included

Prep time: 5 min
Cook time: 5 min
Difficulty: Easy

Pancakes

1/4 cup flour

1/4 cup skimmed milk

1 tsp.baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 egg

1/2 banana small

Syrup topping

1/4 cup Aunt Jemima Lite Syrup

Directions:
Mix dry ingredients together. Using a whisk beat egg separately. Mix milk in with the beaten egg. Add dry ingredients and stir together till mixed.
Heat non stick frying pan till it is hot.(Use oil or spray oil if you wish and add the calories to the count in this recipe) Cut banana into round slices and put in bottom of pan. Pour pancake mixture over bananas. Turn heat down to lower but not lowest setting. When the pancake has bubbles and is firm enough to lift up without falling apart,flip it over and cook the other side. This should take less than a minute depending on how firm the pancake was before flipping.

Serve with syrup
Nutrition Facts Pancakes with syrup

Amount Per Serving
Calories 343.56
Calories from Fat 45

% Daily Value
Total Fat                                        5.2g        8%
Saturated Fat                            1.63g        8%
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol                          211.5mg       70%
Sodium                               272.41mg       11%
Total Carbohydrate            65.77g       22%
Dietary Fiber                            3.03g       12%
Sugars                                       34.85g
Protein                                     10.79g        22%
Vitamin A (IU)                 281.26 6%
Vitamin C                                5.13mg         9%
Calcium                                78.07mg        8%
Iron                                           2.51mg        14%

4 responses »

  1. Sounds like you’re a driven chef! I will try this recipe next time. You went to a lot of trouble to figure out all the facts about it. You did your homework, Miss!

  2. Sounds soooo good! Great job putting it together with the nutritional info and all.

Leave a Reply

